Reporting Child Abuse
Sheriff Fontoura Offers Advice on Reporting Child Abuse in New Jersey

New Jersey law says that any person having reasonable cause to believe that a child has been subjected to child abuse or acts of child abuse shall report this information immediately to the Division of Youth and Family Services (DYFS).

The toll-free, 24-hour, 7-day a week hotline is 800-792-8610.

DYFS accepts all allegations of child abuse and neglect by telephone and in-person from all sources, including the child. Reports may also be made anonymously.

Immunity from Criminal and Civil Liability

Any person who, according to the law, reports abuse or neglect or testifies in a child abuse hearing that results from such a report is immune from any criminal or civil liability as a result of such action.

Penalty for Failure to Report Child Abuse

Any person who knowingly fails to report suspected abuse or neglect or to comply with the law is a disorderly person and is subject to a fine up to $1000 and/or up to six months imprisonment.